Holy Orders

A life of radical service to Christ and His Church.

"If I were to meet a priest and an angel, I should salute the priest before I saluted the angel. The latter is the friend of God; but the priest holds His place."

-Saint John Vianney

Are you feeling called by God?

To become a priest or deacon is to recognize God is calling you to serve Him and His Church in a radical way. It is a beautiful vocation by which Christ calls you to Himself, that you may be a witness to Him in our world. If you are feeling you might be called, we invite you to learn more about what it means to become a "fisher of men."

"I have separated you from other people, that you should be Mine."

Leviticus 20:26

What is


The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the other Sacrament of Vocation. By it, the recipient is configured to the person of Christ in His mission to preach the Gospel, to seek and save the lost, and to serve as the Good Shepherd of those entrusted to His care.

The Sacrament is composed of three Orders: the Diaconate (deacon), the Priesthood (priest), and the Episcopacy (bishop). This Sacrament can only be received by men who are free to do so according to the Catholic Church.

He said to them,

“Come after me, and I will make you fishers of men.”

Matthew 4:19

Interested in Holy Orders?

Due to the nature of this vocation, the Bishop’s offices oversees this Sacrament. If you are interested in more information on a vocation to the Diaconate or Priesthood please refer to the Diocese’s website.

"The power of the priest,

is the power of the divine person;

for the transubstantiation of the bread requires as much power as

creation of the world."

St. Bernardine of Siena

Close Menu